This weekend we celebrated a milestone with our oldest son–double digits!  Both our boys are huge fans of the Reality TV/Comedy Duck Dynasty, and E and his buddies love paintball almost as much!  So what better way to make our boy “happy, happy, happy” than to have a DD Paintball birthday party!

Image

I designed his invitation with a close reference to the duck camo background in some of the show’s promotional photos.  I then created an illustration similar to the headshots of the Robertson crew used on their ad campaign.  As Ethan is now “10-and-oh-so-wise-now” he has LOTS of suggestions on how to make my projects better <little bit of sarcasm??> However, in all honesty, he’s a very creative kid and his idea of adding a birthday party hat to Uncle Si was awesome!

IMG_1657

My very talented friend and the owner of Sweet Treats at Saladas Bakery, Tori did and AMAZING job on the cake!  I provided her a copy of the invitation and she had free reign to come up with whatever design she felt inspired to create!  I led E to believe that we were passing on a cake this year since the party was a bit bigger than usual, and my sweet boy thought snack food was the perfect compromise.  The best part of the day was when we swung by the bakery to pick up his surprise and how blown away he was by the cake.  It truly was a special moment for a very special birthday!

Image

Other printables I created for the party were a birthday sign for the cake table, waterbottle lables, and tags for the s’more party favors.  The boys loved the set up and were especially excited about the Duck Commander “FAITH – FAMILY – DUCKS” bracelets each guest got to take home.  We are so blessed that both our sons are a part of a great group of boys; a fun time was had by all!

Image

I love graphic design and the chance to help a client pull the perfect event or promotion together in a way that was better than they ever imagined.  But the greatest part about my job is when I get to use it to love on my family and return to them some of the great joy and blessings they bring to my life..

Image

For those of you who may not know, last month I was blessed to become the new graphic artist at Herring Printing Company.  Lots of exciting things in store with this creative team, so look for more free printables and other fun promotionals in the near futire!!  It has been amazing to get to see what started as a hobby creating birthday party printables for my kids and cards for friends first grow into free-lance work for a teaching supply company; then I became a part of a talented online community that included getting featured on some amazing sites and opened the opportunity meet so many more wonderful people; and now I can’t believe I get to start another new and exciting adventure!  Every step along the way is even more of a blessing than the first, and I know that provision comes from above.  I am so thankful to get to go to a job where I love what I do;  I pray this same blessing for both of my sons someday.

